Trimming brass

Ask questions and share information about reloading.
Coyotecontrole
.204 Ruger Guns: Rem 700 sps 12" twist w/bell&carl tac stk timney trigger

Trimming brass

Post by Coyotecontrole »

Im new to reloading and i want to know when i should trim my brass. My fired one time shell dont show any sine of strecthing.
Bill K
.204 Ruger Guns: also now, a Savage switch bull barrel in 204R. 23 inch SS

Re: Trimming brass

Post by Bill K »

You will not know for sure the length, unless you measure it. just looking does not really tell. Trim and keep it within the limits for that cartridge, then you know you are running it safe and within limits. Bill K :)
futuretrades
.204 Ruger Guns: HOWA 1500 .204 Ruger Varmint, Bull Bbl, Lupy 6-18x40 custom

Post by futuretrades »

I am guessing, you are talking 204R. Your brass in the 204 does not stretch much, unless you are loading "HOT" :twisted:

If you don't have a caliper, get one. A caliper is the only way to get an accurate measurement, other than a micrometer, to check the length of said brass. No need to trim until brass is about .010 over max length. At that time, only trim back to minimum length, which is shown in your reloading manual, or trim back to the length of your shortest brass.
NRA Benefactor Life member
HOWA 1500 Varmint 204 Ruger, Bull Barrel, Hogue Overmold Stock, Leupold VXII 6-18x40mm AO LRV Custom Reticle Timney Trigger
Cooper Mdl 21 20VarTargW/Leupold VXIII, 6-20x40AO Varmint Hunter reticle.
RAMOS
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage Model 12 FLV, Cooper M21

Post by RAMOS »

Measure your chamber length and trim a couple thousandths shorter than that. Published 'trim-to' length is most likely shorter than needed.
Coyotecontrole
.204 Ruger Guns: Rem 700 sps 12" twist w/bell&carl tac stk timney trigger

Post by Coyotecontrole »