Grouping interpretation help

General discussion and information about the .204 Ruger.
mshelton
.204 Ruger Guns: none

Grouping interpretation help

Post by mshelton »

I'm hoping to get a little help in figuring out what happened today, kinda new to the longer range shooting and I'm still learning.

Started off today setting up a 200yd target across an old pasture I have the good fortune of being able to shoot at. I loosened the screws holding my action in and tightened them back up. I walked down to the target between each group to take a look at them and to give the barrel a little cooling time.

My first group was 5 shots strung vertically, a group about 3" up and down, 3/4" left to right and I chalked it up to factory ammo (Hornady 32g Vmax) and a clean barrel. Next group, 3 shots dead on, a group of about 3/4" even held one off a bit for a breeze that came up. Should have finished the group but decided instead to shoot a couple golf balls I had set down there, figuring the rifle was on. Decided next to try the bipod instead of the rest. I knew my POI would be off, group was high right and about 2". Shot another group and got the same results. Decided to go back to the rest and bag, and I got the same results for 2 groups, decided to do a quick cleaning of the barrel and loosen/tighten the action screws. Same results, large group high right for a couple more groups.

It was in the 90s here so I decided to pack it on for the day and head home, but I can't figure out what happened to cause that kind of shift. I know I'm using factory loads and maybe I found 3-5 there that were consistent but from centered to right doesn't make sense to me. I know the rifle could use a bedding and this may help it out but is there anything else I should be looking at (well besides handloading, which is coming :) )?

Thanks
Ruger1
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage Model 12 LRPV

Re: Grouping interpretation help

Post by Ruger1 »