Hornady 40 grain V-MAX

Share information about reloading the .204 Ruger.
varget204
.204 Ruger Guns: savage M 12fv 26" krieger barrel,sav 10 criterion 26" barrel

Hornady 40 grain V-MAX

Post by varget204 »

Just got another 1000 bullets,Weighed and sorted by Ogive length,1 box,almost 1/2 the box bullets only weighed 39.6 grains,I have been buying them since 2009, First time i've ever gotten any.Previous was a few[handfull] at 39.8 grains.Almost always 39.95 to 40.05 grains with some 40.1 grains.I loaded some and got .293 to .351 groups ,wind was blowing a little;but they were not Near as good as the bullets that weigh 40 grains.I've shot 35 and 40 grain match Bergers in the past .Got groups under 3/16";but Hornady's always shot a lot better.The Bergers were $24-$26 a hundred, Just could not afford them, as Much as i shoot on my limited budget.The Hornady's I get in Quantity,Less than $16.50 a box.I'm going to contact Hornady,See what they have to Say.IF you shoot the V-Max Keep an Eye out for this.If you don't weigh every bullet and shoot these lighter weight bullets;and your Groups Open Up ,It may be the cause.I've run into Quality issues in the last year w/ V-max bullets,cases, and 6.5MM ELD bullets. Has anyone else run into lighter weight bullets??---varget204
dsandfort
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage 12 BTCSS

Re: Hornady 40 grain V-MAX

Post by dsandfort »

I'm pretty sure the V-Max line of bullets are purpose-built to blow varmints up at "effective" ranges. I'm also pretty sure they were never designed for extreme range as you like to shoot.
If I needed to drive 10" spikes in railroad ties and choose to use a 16 ounce framing hammer, I'd have a rough time. If I bought a case of these hammers and weighed every one, there would likely be a difference. If I called Stanley and asked why the difference, they would probably suggest that I buy a bigger hammer.