Ladder load development testing.

Share information about reloading the .204 Ruger.
skipper
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington XR 100, Custom build Lilja/Panda/Shehane/Jewell

Ladder load development testing.

Post by skipper »

Every wonder what the best load for your rifle is? You can find out using a ladder load development test. This question comes up from time to time on this forum and has been discussed extensively in the past. Your rifle is unique, there are many like it, but yours likes what it likes and doesn't follow any particular rules just because of brand and model. I'm going to kick off this subject for the newer members with the little knowledge I have gained. AND I do mean LITTLE! I am not an expert, but I'll share what I know. Please, be kind!!!

A ladder test is a method of testing a load combination using progressive charge weight increments while looking for a group of shots with the smallest points of impact (POI) measured center to center. You are trying to identify a "sweet-spot" in the barrel harmonics by using the bullet's impact on the target.

For optimal results, during the test, all variables must be kept to an absolute minimum with exception to the actual powder charge weight. For example, the same powder, bullet, primer, case, seating depth and barrel temperature must be maintained throughout the test. Only the powder charge changes by a predetermined increment during the test. If more than one variable is changed during the test it is almost impossible to determine which variable caused the change in results, essentially nullifying the test.

More to come!
Image Hold 'em & Squeeze 'em
Tom Kat
.204 Ruger Guns: CZ 527, Ruger American Predator in Magpul Hunter stock

Re: Ladder load development testing.

Post by Tom Kat »

Thank you for starting this thread, I will read all of it with great interest.
"The difficulty lies not so much in developing new ideas as in escaping from old ones."

John Maynard Keynes
Bill K