Help a complete noob

Share information about reloading the .204 Ruger.
Mike
.204 Ruger Guns: Cooper, RRA

Help a complete noob

Post by Mike »

I'm getting ready to order my first set of dies to start reloading for the .204 (with the help of a friend). Please forgive the ignorance of my post, but if I don't ask I won't learn. I want to get a neck-sizing die so that I can use fire-formed brass without resizing it (I hope I said that right :? ). My question is, do I need a crimping die as well? My friend says that he uses one for his .270 but I couldn't find one for the .204. What dies do I need to order so that I can get started?

Thanks for the patience!
Hotshot
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage and ar-15

Re: Help a complete noob

Post by Hotshot »

Mike,

You can neck size with a standard resizing die. Just adjust it to size the neck and not the whole case( instructions with the die will help). You'll need a full length die anyway because you can only neck size so many times untill the shoulder must be bumped. I think all the major companies make good dies, but I have been most happy with Redding. Hunting loads are often crimped so the cartridges in the magazine don't come apart from recoil. I don't crimp my varmint loads ever and I don't think you'll find any bench rest shooters who do either. You can set most rifle seating dies to crimp (again just follow directions with the dies) pistol cartridges often have a separate die for crimping. If you get to large quantities of loading then you might buy a neck sizing only die for your needs. Good luck and be carefull as you start the reloading portion of this hobby, many of us find this to be a very satisfying aspect of the sport of kings.
skipper
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington XR 100, Custom build Lilja/Panda/Shehane/Jewell

Post by skipper »

You're going to need both a bushing neck sizing die and a full length die. Forget the crimp.