New to the forum- new to the 204

Share information about reloading the .204 Ruger.
belfire27
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage LRPV

New to the forum- new to the 204

Post by belfire27 »

Hey folks- I bought a Savage LRPV for my son (at least that's my story) and I ordered up some Nosler brass and Hornady 32gr V-Max bullets. I'm looking for some load info for a starting point. I've been reloading for 20 years so the process isn't new to me and I shoot .222 and 25-06 varmint rigs and have tailored loads for each. Are there any issues that are unique to the 204? I've found that both of my other guns like bullets touching the rifling. My BVSS in 25-06 isn't a problem with getting them to touch but the 204 32 grain pill might not have the bearing surface to hang out that far in a Savage chamber. I guess I'll find out. I still have to mount the scope so I'm not loading yet. Just looking for any advice that might be unique to this caliber.
Thanks in advance, TC.
RAMOS
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage Model 12 FLV, Cooper M21

Re: New to the forum- new to the 204

Post by RAMOS »

TC,
Welcome to the forum! I'm sure you will get more detailed responses from other members but, I will give you a short one to get things started. I have used Varget and liked it. Decent velocity and good accuracy. Decided to try RL10X and like it even better on all counts. My current load that I have used all summer: fully prepped and annealed Win. brass, Fed 205M primer, 24.7gr RL10X w/ 32gr V-Max. Shoots 1/2" groups at 200yds. consistantly. The .204 seems to benefit (in most rifles) from a bit of a jump to the rifling so don't be too concerned about the short 32gr pills. Enjoy your' son's new rifle!
Jon
On Edit: Above info. using a Savage Model 12FLV
belfire27

Post by belfire27 »

Couple followup questions- Do you have better luck with the mag primer? I couldn't get my 25-06 to perform well enough until I tried WW mag primers- what a difference! Second- what is your OAL on the cartridge?
RAMOS