Howdy from Salt Flat, Texas !

Experiences and effectiveness in hunting with the .204 Ruger.
NiriTawa
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage model 12 Heavy varmint barrel

Howdy from Salt Flat, Texas !

Post by NiriTawa »

Howdy, everyone! I just joined today, and think that I am going to enjoy this group a lot. A but about myself: My screen Name is Na'vi, (I agree strongly with the core environmental message of the movie "AVATAR", and am learning the Na'vi language so that I can converse with others on AVATAR discussion groups. My "Earth Name" is Sabrina, "Brie" to my friends. I am 65, retired Army, and an active pilot. I have been shooting since I was 12 years old, hunting since I was 14 years old. I am still an excellent shot, I used to be a member of a Division level National Match Rifle Team in 1969.
Two days ago, I became the VERY proud owner of a Savage model 12, in .204 Ruger. It will be next week some time before I get to shoot it, but I can't wait. Our retirement home is a long, thin 80 acres, 750 feet wide, and 1.2 miles long, with a 4,700 by 90 foot grass airstrip running right down the middle of it. We are beginning to get a few P-dogs on the fringes of our property, and last year, I killed 15 of them with a Mossberg 144 LSA rifle at ranges of 70 to 100 yards. They have now gotten smarter, and now stay 200, to 400 yards away, which was the need for a dedicated long range varmint rifle. I used to reload all of my ammo back in the early 90's, (25-06, 30-40 krag, 10mm pistol, and 357 pistol) but stopped in in 1996, and will pick it back up again in a week or so.
Well, that's about it, folks, Y'all have a great day now.
Brie
Bill K
.204 Ruger Guns: also now, a Savage switch bull barrel in 204R. 23 inch SS

Re: Howdy from Salt Flat, Texas !

Post by Bill K »

Welcome to the forum, looking forward to stories and photo's of your area and hits with the new 204R.. Bill K
TEXAS222
.204 Ruger Guns: custom build AR 15-Rem 700 .204 VARMINT- .204 Kimber Pro Var

Post by TEXAS222 »