220 swift owners

Talk about or share information about your Ruger centerfire rifles.
savageboy23
.204 Ruger Guns: Rem 700 sps varmint

220 swift owners

Post by savageboy23 »

To all those out there who own this caliber please help me out. I have wanted one for years and am considering ordering a Rem 700 varmit SF with the stainless action. The rifle itself is still a current model but is not being produced at the moment according to one of my local gunshops so I will custom order it. I would just like to get a factory produced rifle while they are still in production.

I have heard wonderful things about the caliber. I have also heard from a gentleman I work with is that they are picky to reload for? I am new to reloading so I would stick with factory ammo for the time being. As for the bullet choice go light or heavier? Sorry if this is hodged podged together.
Remington 700 sps varmit with Leupold vx-3 6.5-20 adj objective HS Precision stock and timney trigger
Rick in Oregon
.204 Ruger Guns: Sako 75V, Cooper MTV, Kimber 84M, Cust M700 11 Twist

Re: 220 swift owners

Post by Rick in Oregon »

My Swift is an older tang safety M77V. It shoots very well with RL-15 and the Nosler 55gr BT, right at 3,700 fps, and has been bedded, floated and a Rifle Basix trigger installed. It rarely gets shot any more.

No big deal, but this is typical accuracy results from mine......there are much more accurate varmint calibers to be had:

That said, I wonder with all the great current caliber offerings, you'd opt for the Swift. Any one of my 204's will outshoot the Swift, do it with less powder, less recoil, less blast, flatter shooting, more accurate, has the ability to see the hits/misses through the scope, and have much less expensive and more available brass for handloading. There's a reason the Swift is a custom order proposition these days....... :chin: