OUTSIDE NECK TURNING?

Ask questions and share information about reloading.
TEXAS222
.204 Ruger Guns: custom build AR 15-Rem 700 .204 VARMINT- .204 Kimber Pro Var

OUTSIDE NECK TURNING?

Post by TEXAS222 »

I'm just learning about turning the outside neck on my brass. In your opinion what is the best, quickest, easiest tool to turn the outside necks and the best tool to measure case thickness? I'm not on a budget so I want to buy the best tool I can get to do a good easy job. I assume the 1st step is neck sizing to make sure the ID is round. After that I'm pretty lost. Could you briefly explain the procedure from start to finish. Anything I should know, I'd appreciate you telling me. If it makes a difference, 80% of my brass is Lapua or Norma & 10% Nosler, Hornaday if I can not get any thing else. Also my loading is confined to 20, 22, & 24 caliber ammo. I really appreciate your opinion & help.
Jim D
dsandfort
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage 12 BTCSS

Re: OUTSIDE NECK TURNING?

Post by dsandfort »

Hi Jim, I'll take a run at this one based only on my experience.

I'm really liking my 21st Century Lathe and turning tool. I use it with a Bosch i-Driver and I can turn up a storm.
A few things about how I do it.

First, I do not turn Hornet or Bee brass. I think it's too thin to begin with. If I stumble on a chamber that requires it, I will turn as needed. So far, no need.

I skim-turn everything else. By that I mean I set the cutter so it only takes off the high side of the brass neck. Usually this means about 50-70% of the neck gets cut. I also set the length of cut so it gets in to the shoulder a bit and makes a smooth transition. I think this is especially important when you size down the neck (22 to 20 or 22 to 17) since the brass has to go somewhere and cutting into the shoulder removes the doughnut of brass.

I do neck size new brass but more importantly, I trim them all to uniform length since the cut length is based on the overall brass length.