Problem

Ask questions and share information about reloading.
broper
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington 700 sps

Problem

Post by broper »

I had a case head come off while sizing and now the remainder of the case is stuck in my die. I've been reloading since 1968 and never had this happen. I guess in my old age I just didn't check the cases as good as I should have before sizing. They are L C brass and I thought once fired. Anyway does anyone know of a good way to get whats left of the case out of the die? Or do they make a tool for that, I don't remember ever seeing one. It seems to be stuck in there pretty good.
Bill K
.204 Ruger Guns: also now, a Savage switch bull barrel in 204R. 23 inch SS

Re: Problem

Post by Bill K »

If a tight wire brush ran into the case and twisted then pulled does not work it out, I have taken a very small pointed pick and worked it between the case and the die body (carefully so as to not mark the die) then pry slowly the case away from it's holding onto the die body. This will often allow you to work the case out.
If not, best to send it to the die maker or take to your gunsmith and have them remove it. Bill K :)
broper

Post by broper »

I'll give it a try, thanks.
skipper
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington XR 100, Custom build Lilja/Panda/Shehane/Jewell

Post by skipper »

Have your tried some judiciously applied heat??
Image Hold 'em & Squeeze 'em
broper

Post by broper »

No, I haven't. Someone suggested freezing, that didn't work. Maybe I'll try heat.
broper

Post by broper »

Got it.
skipper

Post by skipper »

What had a positive reaction. Did you narrow it down or did you just muscle it??
broper

Post by broper »

I used a sharp awl and got between the case and the die in two places. That loosened it up, then I pulled it out with needle nose pliers. Inspected it with a light and there was no damage so I cleaned it real good with WD40, dried it out good and put it back together. Ready to go now.
Rick in Oregon