bought a new 204 ruger hawkeye

General discussion and information about the .204 Ruger.
howler

bought a new 204 ruger hawkeye

Post by howler »

I have been shooting a 204 Browning A bolt Varmint Stalker for about 3 years and it is the best shooting rifle I have ever owned or really seen. But with its extra weight it made for a little heavier carry gun than I would like So I started shopping for a new rifle. I landed on the 204 Hawkeye, I flitz'ed the barrel 200 strokes, 50 at a time, then clean, I had to shorten the COL from 2.366 to 2.286, the Hawkeye's magazine is just a little shorter than the Brownings, So I went to the range with the loads I developed for the browning hoping they would perform maybe not equaly as well but a good coyote moa, the load was 25 grains of reloader 10x with a 39 grain serria Blitzking, remington 7 1/2 primer, ww cases, anyway I sighted it in so I would at least hit paper at 100 yards and proceeded to test the load I was surprised .52 for a 3 shot group
Image,

anyway here is the rifle the trigger tested out at just over 3 lbs plenty good for the job intended, I like the rifle so far and I think it will put some fur up in fine style.
UTcaller
.204 Ruger Guns: CZ 527

Re: bought a new 204 ruger hawkeye

Post by UTcaller »

Nice rifle howler..I bought the same rifle a few months ago.It's quite a shooter.I really enjoy mine.I have been shooting the factory 45 grain softpoints exclusively through it and it really seems to like them. one inch groups or less with the factory ammo.I am going to work up a good load with the 45's once I shoot up the factory ammo.I really like how crisp the trigger is on the hawkeye but didn't like how heavy the factory set trigger pull was.I had a gunsmith friend of mine put a different spring in it and it now has a nice 2 lbs pull.I have only shot a few coyotes with it so far but it seems to be a good combination(45 sp bullets/Hawkeye rifle).

Good Hunting Chad
KVW
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage 12LRPV & 12FVS