Barrel break in

General discussion and information about the .204 Ruger.
doug
.204 Ruger Guns: savage model 25

Barrel break in

Post by doug »

Hey guys, newbie here. Just purchased my first 204. A savage M25 thumbhole lightweight varmiter. Need some opinions on barrel break in. I know you could probaly write a book on this subject. Right now im using what SAVAGE recomends on their websight. Lot of cleaning & shooting but at least im getting to know the rifle. Has any one used this procedure or am i wasting time & ammo? Had to quit the procedure because of scope failure!!!!!!! Well at least i got 10 shots down the barrel. Thanks
cynergyguy
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage LRPV

Re: Barrel break in

Post by cynergyguy »

I think what you will find is everyone has their own method, I shoot one shot and clean for the first 10 rounds and then shoot 3 and clean for the next 20 or so, I know some benchrest guys who shoot one and clean with j b paste for the first 20. I don't know if it helps but they think it does
Rick in Oregon
.204 Ruger Guns: Sako 75V, Cooper MTV, Kimber 84M, Cust M700 11 Twist

Post by Rick in Oregon »

Doug: The previous poster, cynergyguy's method just about mirrors the procedure recommended by suppliers of aftermarket custom barrels, and is very close to the method I've used for years with very good results. You could do alot worse by using that method, just check the patches for signs of either carbon or copper fouling, and that will be your indication of when the barrel is broken-in properly, i.e. minimal signs of blue or green = no copper. No black crud = no carbon.

By the way, you mention "scope failure"....can you tell us about the scope, brand, model, etc.?

Good luck with the new rifle!
Semper Fortis
Rick in Oregon
NRA Life/OHA/VHA/VVA

Oregon, East of the Cascades - Where Common Sense Still Prevails

doug

Post by doug »