trouble with consistent reloads

General discussion and information about the .204 Ruger.
ryutzy
.204 Ruger Guns: Superior Arms Custom AR-15 Leopold VXIII 4.5-14X50

trouble with consistent reloads

Post by ryutzy »

I'm new to this site but love what i've seen of it. I was hoping that I could get some help here. I've been having trouble getting better than and inch and a quarter groups with my AR-15 in .204. I've got a 24in heavy barrel with a Leopold 4.5-14X50 scope. I'm beginning to think maybe my brass is a bad batch. I've got hornady once fired brass that I am trying to use from their 40gr factory load. I've noticed that some of the primer pockets are looser than others. I'm also concerned about bullet run-out but not sure how to curb that. I'm somewhat new to reloading, but I've had great success loading for .243 and 7MM. Here is my reloading process.

Clean brass
Resize brass
Chamfer, deburr, and clean primer pockets
prime with Rem 7.5
charge cases
seat bullet with no crimp

I've been using 27.4 of H4895 as this seemed to be better. I measure each powder charge and check each cartridge for overall length. I've been seating them at 2.250 and using the 40 gr VMAX. I shoot a 1:12 twist barrel. I cannot seat my bullet much further out because it will not fit in the magazine. I might be able to hit 2.260. Is my barrel twist to slow? Not sure what I'm doing wrong so help me out folks. What should I change?
It's hard to detect good luck, It looks so much like something you've worked hard for and earned.
Stay humble, Stay teacheable
dozernomore
.204 Ruger Guns: savage model 25

Re: trouble with consistent reloads

Post by dozernomore »

your load is darn close to mine,27.3gr h-4895,wsrp,2.267 col,,,out of my savage model 25,
204ruger,,,,wich I believe is the same barrel dimensions as your's,,and I get great results,,,now I do measure concentricity,and anything over 4thou is used for foulers or close range,,,,what type of runout are you getting ???
ryutzy