DPMS or Bushmaster?

Talk about ARs, in all their varieties!
Va varminter
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage 12 FV

DPMS or Bushmaster?

Post by Va varminter »

I have no experience with black guns but want one bad. The only thing I know is that it will be a 223 w/ 24" barrel. I plan on shooting it a long way.
http://www.fairtax.org
Election day can't get here soon enough.
giterdone
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage 12LRPV-Savage 12VLP-T/C Encore SS all in .204 Ruger

Re: DPMS or Bushmaster?

Post by giterdone »

DPMS has a larger variety of calibers to choose from, but Bushmaster (now a part of Remington) is the hands down accuracy winner of the two. There are many other good choices out there, often higher in price or you could build your own. I have a 1-9" twist .223 Bushmaster 24" Stainless Varmint model w/magpul PRS Gen2 stock and Mark 4 4.5-14X50mm LR/T that shoots bug holes (I also shoot it at 600yds). Do not order a chrome lined bore/chamber if you want the best accuracy as it is difficult to chrome line the inside of a barrel evenly. If you just want to pray and spray then get the chrome lined barrel in a DPMS.
John Moses Browning made the west safe for Winchesters
Captqc
.204 Ruger Guns: Cooper Phoenix .204

Post by Captqc »

Rock River, much better trigger than either DPMS or Bushmaster. Gary
Charlie AR15
.204 Ruger Guns: none

Post by Charlie AR15 »

I agree with captqc; Rock River has THE best trigger. But, you can buy it and put it in any lower. A friend of mine bought a DPMS AR10 in 308 and it is superb ! Smoothest bore I have ever cleaned, and it shoots awesome. Can't say any more than that.
Va varminter
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage 12 FV

Post by Va varminter »

What can I expect as far as accuracy goes? I will be shooting factory stuff, and it will be .223. I am in th .2s w/my savage 204, I know it won't be that good. But is 1/2 inch asking too much?
http://www.fairtax.org
Election day can't get here soon enough.
OldTurtle
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage mod. 116 and Custom .204 AR