Help please the 35 grain Berger or 39 grain Sierra

Share information about reloading the .204 Ruger.
jknoel
.204 Ruger Guns: none

Help please the 35 grain Berger or 39 grain Sierra

Post by jknoel »

Hello Everyone,

I have a once in a lifetime opporutnigy to have a older gentlemen load me up a 1000 rounds of 204. I love to coyote hunt and fox along with the bobcat so the hide preservation is the highest on my list. Could you guys help me out and let me know which one you would prefer? Since I am new to this I would apprecaite it if you would give me the full description of the bullet so I purchase the correct one. Please dont suggest any other bullet- this is hard enough as it is. I rather have you pick one of the two if these were not your first choice. I heard rave reviews on these two so thats why I picked these. The fella wants me to let him know by tommorow afternnonn.

thanks alot,

Joe
RAMOS
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage Model 12 FLV, Cooper M21

Re: Help please the 35 grain Berger or 39 grain Sierra

Post by RAMOS »

Wow, a thousand round roll of the dice. I would go for the 35 grain Berger. The biggest question I have is if you will have the opportunity to develop the load once you have the components. What powder will he be using? For the expense, I sure would hate to have 1K rounds that are not grouping like they should.
Rick in Oregon
.204 Ruger Guns: Sako 75V, Cooper MTV, Kimber 84M, Cust M700 11 Twist

Post by Rick in Oregon »

I agree with Ramos, as the 35gr Berger seems to be the unanamous choice of hide savers. One thing I wonder is do you actually HAVE 1,000 of either bullet in hand?

If you or your friend do not have the components to load that batch, finding them may be a chore right now, besides quite a roll of the dice in the accuracy department.
Semper Fortis
Rick in Oregon
NRA Life/OHA/VHA/VVA

Oregon, East of the Cascades - Where Common Sense Still Prevails

jknoel

Post by jknoel »