electronic powder scales

Share information about reloading the .204 Ruger.
randyman
.204 Ruger Guns: .204 on AR platform, .20 Vartarg built from Rem. 700 SA

electronic powder scales

Post by randyman »

I've been using my RCBS 5-10 beam scale for many years and have always thought they were the way to go vrs. electronic scales. Now I'm starting to doubt myself since I got a crhonograph and have been seeing as much as 200 fps variances in the same load. I realize there are more than one stages of the reloading process that can affect bullet performance but I'm thinking a good reliable electronic scale may be a good place to start for a bit more consistency. I borrowed my sons pocket size Frankford Aresenal scale but it will start to drift around a little after being left on for a couple minutes. So, my question to all you is what would you recommend for a good, quality electronic scale? Thanks, Randy.
Varmint Shooter
.204 Ruger Guns: 204 Ruger Rem XR-100,20VT, 20SCC,20TAC. Cortez, CO

Re: electronic powder scales

Post by Varmint Shooter »

I have the RCBS Charge Master. Been using it for almost 4 years, not a single problem. Very accurate and consistent.
My shooting buddy Bill K has the Hornady model and is quite happy with it.
jpx2rk
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage 12FV, R783/20P combo

Post by jpx2rk »

The electronic scales usually need several minutes to warm up and they become "more" stable, but the two that I have used still would drift which requires recalbrating or "zeroing" on a regular basis. They are accurate but it's frustrating to keep hitting the tare/zero button numerous times.
Master Piddler ;)
brooksb
.204 Ruger Guns: Ruger M12 FV

Post by brooksb »