annealing questions

Share information about reloading the .204 Ruger.
WHISTLEPIG

annealing questions

Post by WHISTLEPIG »

I got a 650 degree temp stick today (tempilstik) and tried to anneal a couple cases. Have a few questions for Skipper or anyone else who uses this method.

1. When I rub the temp stick, which is very hard, on the case just below the shoulder it leaves a dusty like material on the case. Is this the way it is supposed to work?

2. Holding the tourch with the blue flame at the neck juncture and spinning in my drill chucked with a 3/8 deep socket it takes about 6 seconds for the dust from the temp stick to melt. I then remove the case and quench. Sound right?

3. The hardened temp stick residue seems to stick to the case. How do I handle that?

4. The case neck seems a little darker and there is a slight rose or maybe pink hue about 1/4" down the case wall from the shoulder.

Does all this sound right? I know I have asked a lot of questions about this in the past and I am thankful for all the help. Just scared I am going to ruin a bunch of cases that have had a lot of work done to them.
Rick in Oregon
.204 Ruger Guns: Sako 75V, Cooper MTV, Kimber 84M, Cust M700 11 Twist

Post by Rick in Oregon »

Hi there WP: As you may remember, this is not the method I use (I use the time-proven water/heat or Kindler method), but it sounds right based on my shop experience using temp sticks in heat-treating and welding.

The only caveat I'd ask is how are you protecting the case base area from the heat? Do you feel the drill chuck/holding assembly is acting as a heat-sink? The one thing you DO NOT want to do is excessively heat the case head area and weaken the case, thereby changing the temper of the brass in the head area. I'm sure Skipper will jump in here and clarify his method, but just make sure the head area stays cool.