Bulk Loading .204

Share information about reloading the .204 Ruger.
goody523

Bulk Loading .204

Post by goody523 »

I am new to the reloading game and have learned a ton from all the guys on this forum who share their many years of experience. Using the info I have gained here I have made hand loads that make my .204 shoot better than I thought was possibly with a factory gun (or someone with my skills for that matter). I was at the range yesterday and was consisently shooting 5 shot groups out of my Browning Varmint Stalker that varied from .25" to .35", which seems pretty amazing to me (although I do have to admit one thing - when I am working up loads I always shoot 6 shots and throw out the worst one figuring it gets rid of some of the human error and gives me a better idea of how the load is really performing).

Anyway, I have a 5 day P-dog shoot coming up in Montana in early June where I need about 1000 rounds for my .204 and I have come to the realization that there is absolutely no way I have enough time to load that many myself if I go through all the steps I have been going through to get these groups (sizing new brass, primer pocket uniforming, flash hole deburring, trimmimg every case, etc.). That leaves me with two options:

1) Buy 1000 rounds of HSM with 39gr Sierra BK and save all the brass. I have shot these loads and they group at about 1.1" with my gun - not horrible, but not nearly as good as my handloads.

2) Buy more new Remington brass (which is what I have been using) and just put in primers, load powder straight from the dropper and seat a bullet.