What size bushing for Redding Type S Neck Sizing Die?

Share information about reloading the .204 Ruger.
terrance250

What size bushing for Redding Type S Neck Sizing Die?

Post by terrance250 »

The instructions say to subtract .001" from a loaded round to determine wich size bushing I'll need. So can I just resize a fired case with my RCBS full length die, & seat a bullet to obtain my "loaded round" measurement? If so it looks like I'll need a .228" bushing.

Sorry if this is a stupid question. I'm pretty new to the world of handloading & really new to the world of "precision" handloading. Still trying to figure all this stuff out but I'm having lot's of fun trying.

Thanks, any help will be greatly appreciated.

Terry
Silverfox
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage 12VLP purchased in June 2004 + 2 other custom .204s

Post by Silverfox »

terrance250--Yes, you can use your regular sizing die and measure the loaded round.

You don't mention whether you are turning the necks on your casings. The Redding information says that if you are using a Type "S" style die and NOT turning the outside of your caase necks, then you should use a bushing that is .002" smaller than your smallest average neck diameter of your loaded round and they further encourage you to use the expander ball that comes with your Type "S" die.

Make sure you are using a precision micrometer when measuring your loaded casing neck diameter and not just a caliper. You'll get waaaay more accurate measurements with the precision micrometer than you will with most calipers.

Also, measure 10 or more loaded rounds to get your average diameter.
Catch ya L8R--Silverfox
skipper
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington XR 100, Custom build Lilja/Panda/Shehane/Jewell

Post by skipper »

terrance250