Neck sizing die problems.

Share information about reloading the .204 Ruger.
kirbymagnum

Neck sizing die problems.

Post by kirbymagnum »

I'm having trouble setting up my neck sizing die. I have the bushing in the right way ( So i think) and when I adjust the die so the sliding sleeve full compresses it will only go 1/8 " of the way in even when I adjust the micrometer. What am I doing wrong? Was I supposed to take out of a piece because of the bushing?
skipper
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington XR 100, Custom build Lilja/Panda/Shehane/Jewell

Post by skipper »

Which die are you talking about? Redding, Forster, RCBS?
Image Hold 'em & Squeeze 'em
kirbymagnum

Post by kirbymagnum »

Redding
skipper
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington XR 100, Custom build Lilja/Panda/Shehane/Jewell

Post by skipper »

kirbymagnum

Sorry, I've never used that particular die before. Read the instructions to see if you need to full length size before you use the bushing die. The instructions that came with my RCBS Bushing Sizing die said that the bushings need to go in with the writing facing right side up so there may be a right and wrong way to place the bushing into the die. You might also try taking the bushing out just to see if the case will go all the way into the die. That might help you troubleshoot. Make sure the expander ball isn't bottoming out in the bottom of the case.
Image Hold 'em & Squeeze 'em
Rodbolt

Post by Rodbolt »

kirbymagnum,