Reloading kits

Share information about reloading the .204 Ruger.
Gmetme
.204 Ruger Guns: Kimber .204 Ruger

Reloading kits

Post by Gmetme »

Hi fellas, I've tried a search on here, but haven't really found what I'm after. I'm new to reloading.(I used to reload my shotshells though, for Trap, years ago!!) I now have a Kimber Varmint .204, and am looking to reload.
I'm starting to look at what sort of gear I need, and probably buy a "kit" for a start. I've seen the 'Hornady Classic kit' on their website, but not any other manufacturers yet. I'm aware of all the great info on this site, but could I please have your thoughts on what a good quality kit would be, as a basis for hopefully years of reloading this great calibre.
So far, after break-in etc, this rifle seems to prefer the 39 to 45 gr bullets,the 45g seeming more consistant(probably just me!!) although the Wincester 34g seemed ok at times too. I'd like to be more accurate with the 32's, so rabbits don't get so totalled :eek: when hit..naaah, I'd just like the 32's to be more accurate if possible in this rifle. Thoughts? Cheers.
Hotshot
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage and ar-15

Re: Reloading kits

Post by Hotshot »

If you read the previous pages on this 204 reloading and the general reloading topics, you will find a wealth of advice to previous beginners asking this same question. Kits are okay, but with some sound advice from experienced reloaders you may put together your own kit and like the results better.

First thing. How are you going to use your rifle? Plink a few bunnies at 75 to 250 yards, hundreds of shots at a time in prairie dog towns, occasional fun competitions, or serious target shooting every other weekend?

Second thing. What are you satisfied with for accuracy? 3/4 inch at 100, 3/8 inch at 200, Hit an egg most of the time at 300, shoot prairie dogs out to 600 yards?

Read up and give us some more info about what you want to accomplish with your loads and we'll help you get started right.