Oregon PDs in Summer,Fall ?

Experiences and effectiveness in hunting with the .204 Ruger.
majcl5

Oregon PDs in Summer,Fall ?

Post by majcl5 »

I have been hunting pds in Oregon for about 6 years but always in the spring. I have heard from the farmers that they dont come out in the summer and fall is that true (july,aug,sept,oct)?
WHISTLEPIG

Post by WHISTLEPIG »

Majcl5, Columbian ground squirrels hibernate for the better part of the year. The males are the first to appear in the spring, the females at that time are about to, or have just birthed their litters and emerge a little later. As the temperatures warm to the 90’s they begin to disappear into hibernation until the next spring. You got to get while the getting is good.
Rick in Oregon
.204 Ruger Guns: Sako 75V, Cooper MTV, Kimber 84M, Cust M700 11 Twist

Post by Rick in Oregon »

majcl5: I believe you are referring to our ground squirrels as prairie dogs, and for the record bud, prairie dogs are primarily found on the eastern side of the Continental Divide; i.e. MT, WY SD, and some more southern states, OK, TX, and Colorado, but none live in Oregon.

Wistlepig is right on with his assesment too, once it heats up in early June, they're down for the count here, but can still be found through July in California, but not much later. They dont' like heat, nor do they like wind. Prairie dogs on the other hand, are up all through the summer until as late as early October, and wind doesn't bother them near as much (it would be hard to live in Wyoming if you couldn't hack the wind! :lol: )

Here they're called rats, sage rats, squeakers, picket pins, and even squirrels. We have given 'him' a personal name, and take pride in the ability to "teach Skippy to jump"...... :eek:

Good luck with your new 22-250.....don't let that barrel get too hot in the heat of battle this year!
Semper Fortis
Rick in Oregon
NRA Life/OHA/VHA/VVA

Oregon, East of the Cascades - Where Common Sense Still Prevails

WHISTLEPIG