.308 out of box ACCURACY

Talk about or share information about your Ruger centerfire rifles.
dannybracy
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage 12LRPV w/ VX-L Leupold 6.5-20x56 VHR, Savage 12FV.204

.308 out of box ACCURACY

Post by dannybracy »

Hey guys, looking for a little info. I think I might be needing a .308 so I can reach out a little farther on the windy days. I was thinking about getting my first Remington rifle (have a .204 LRPV, a .204 Savage 12, and a .223 AR) and I was looking at the new Rem. 700 VTR and a Rem. Light Tactical Rifle. Was wondering which would have the better potential to be a shooter say in the 600 yd+ range. I am new to precision rifle shooting and am going on my 2nd PD hunt in june and I think that I want to move into a little larger caliber. I know the LTR has a alum bed block and a better stock, but the new VTR with the triangular barrel would be a little cheaper and I would replace the stock right away. I just read the article in Shooting Times mag. on the VTR and the author shot a .41" group in 25-45mph winds w/ a .223. I don't know how you could go wrong there. Was just wondering what you guys think about either Rem. in the .308 b/c I was looking around on the Snipershide.com and they didn't have very many kind words on the VTR. Thanks guys!
***Danny Bracy***

'07 Savage 12LRPV .204 w/ VX-L Leupold 6.5-20x56 VHR
'07 Superior Arms AR15 20" Bull Varmint .223
Guy M

Re: .308 out of box ACCURACY

Post by Guy M »

Danny, since you've already got a couple of Savage rifles - consider the relatively new Savage F/TR in .308 Win:

This thing offers match-winning accuracy right out of the box. A shooting buddy of mine, Monte Milanuk, took one to Raton for the F-class nationals last year and placed SECOND against competitors using all sorts of different custom rifles. The Savage is one factory .308 you can count on for performance.