CZ 452 17 HMR

Ask questions or share information about Ruger rimfire guns such as the Ruger 10/22.
Sidewinderwa
.204 Ruger Guns: Savages

CZ 452 17 HMR

Post by Sidewinderwa »

I bought a new CZ 452 American in 17 HMR. I always clean new guns up before shooting them. The cleaning patches were all rust filled. I used Butch's Bore Shine, Kroil and Blue Wonder and the patches are still coming out rust colored. I am sending in a letter with patches and registration paperwork now. Has anyone else had this problem with CZ? I have another CZ rifle in 223 and did not have any rust. What a disappointment. I hope they have good customer support.
Please, no Sidewinder today!
RAMOS
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage Model 12 FLV, Cooper M21

Re: CZ 452 17 HMR

Post by RAMOS »

I have no first hand experience with this. However, I have read about it a few times. Seems that it turns out to be be the packing grease they use and it does indeed LOOK like rust. Also, it takes a lot of effort to get it all out of the rifle. Hopefully that is what you have going on.
futuretrades
.204 Ruger Guns: HOWA 1500 .204 Ruger Varmint, Bull Bbl, Lupy 6-18x40 custom

Post by futuretrades »

About the only thing I will add is, I have my issues with my CZ 452 American, chambered in 17 HMR!:headache:
NRA Benefactor Life member
HOWA 1500 Varmint 204 Ruger, Bull Barrel, Hogue Overmold Stock, Leupold VXII 6-18x40mm AO LRV Custom Reticle Timney Trigger
Cooper Mdl 21 20VarTargW/Leupold VXIII, 6-20x40AO Varmint Hunter reticle.
Sidewinderwa

Post by Sidewinderwa »

Why would ANY rifle company make a rust colored product, especially if it goes in a barrel? Blue Wonder is my go to product when other products are not working.
Futuretrades, what are your issues with the 452? Should I ask for a different rifle to replace it???
futuretrades

Post by futuretrades »

Sidewinderwa wrote:Futuretrades, what are your issues with the 452? Should I ask for a different rifle to replace it???